Home | Frontpage | Nagaland told to tighten border security for counting

Nagaland told to tighten border security for counting

AGARTALA, February 25 (IANS): Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland have been told to tighten security on their international and inter-state borders ahead of the vote count in the three states Feb 28. “Security along the borders will be further tightened in view of the counting of votes,” an Election Commission official told IANS Monday.

The union home ministry has also directed the states to take steps to seal the international border by deploying additional Border Security Force and Assam Rifles troopers. The BSF guards India’s border with Bangladesh while Assam Rifles is posted along the Myanmar border.

Four northeastern states -- Tripura, Meghalaya, Mizoram and Assam -- share a 1,880-km border with Bangladesh. Mizoram, Manipur, Nagaland and Arunachal Pradesh share a 1,640-km border with Myanmar. Most of the international border is unfenced and runs through dense forests and mountainous terrain, making it porous.

The official said the poll panel has asked the states to ensure three-tier security around the counting centres. Central paramilitary troopers will be posted inside the counting centres, while other security forces will guard the outer areas. Assembly elections in Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland, having 60 seats each, were held Feb 14 (in Tripura) and Feb 23.
Nine stations set for re-polls

DIMAPUR, FEBRUARY 25 (MExN): The Election Commission of India (ECI) today announced fresh polls in nine polling stations across Nagaland for general election to the 12th Nagaland Legislative Assembly. The re-polling in these stations will be held today, February 26, from 7 am to 4 pm.

The polling stations to go for re-polls are 36-Toshiho under 5 Ghaspani II A/C (Dimapur), 22-Sedenyu under 12 Tseminyu A/C (Kohima), 17-Zhavame ‘A’ Wing under 17 Chizami A/C (Phek), 24-Hoshepu ‘A’ & ‘B’ under 34 Aghunato (Zunheboto), 17- Sheyepu under 35 Zunheboto A/C (Zunheboto), 5A- Alisopur under 52 Longkhim Chare A/C (Tuensang), 10- Yangkhao Village under 55 Tobu A/C (Mon), 11- Yankhao Village under 55 Tobu A/C (Mon) and 1- Ladaigarh under 49 Tamlu A/C (Longleng).
Nagaland underwent polling to constitute its 12th Legislative Assembly on February 23 but electoral discrepancies have been reported from almost all over the state. 

Login or Register to post your Comment (Available for registered users only)

Comments (0 posted):

Post your comment comment

Please enter the code you see in the image:

  • email Email to a friend
  • print Print version
  • Plain text Plain text
Log in
No tags for this article