Home | Local | OUR WORLD, OUR FUTURE: Peace-Poster Drawing Contest

OUR WORLD, OUR FUTURE: Peace-Poster Drawing Contest

Dimapur, September 18: Lions Club International is organizing the 26th Peace-Poster Drawing Contest on the theme “Our World, Our future” at Lions Club of Dimapur, Midland on October 2, 2013. Interested schools or youth groups in Dimapur district have been requested to submit names of three participants each from their respective institutions within the age group of 11 to 13 years (as on November 15, 2013) to the chairperson of the contest Asha Agarwal and its chairman Ajay Sethi. The drawings will be judged based on originality, artistic merit and expression of the theme.  

A press release appended by the aforementioned chairperson and chairman informed that Lions Clubs International has been regularly organizing the Peace-Poster Contest around the world wherever a Lions Club exists. The motto of the contest is to foster the spirit of harmony amongst the youths in particular, thereby giving a message of peace to all the sections of the society.

The contest will be on four levels namely, local Lions Club, District, Multiple & International level. International Grand Prize Winner will receive a trip to the award ceremony on the Lions Day with the United Nations (subject to change). At the ceremony, s/he will receive US $ 5,000 (or local equivalent) and an award. Two family members (one being the winner’s parent or legal guardian) and the sponsoring Lions Club President or a club member (as designated by Club President) will accompany the winner to the award ceremony. The award ceremony is planned in March 2014. Further, 23 Multiple-District Merit Award Winners each will receive US $ 500 (or local equivalent) and a certificate of achievement.

Locally, there will be cash awards of Rs.2,500/-, Rs.2000/-, Rs.1,500/-, Rs.1,000/-  for the Top four winners respectively, besides the certificates for the schools and winners. The project is jointly organized by Lions Club of Dimapur and Lions Club of Dimapur Blue Vanda.

The release recalled that last year, Ranjani Kumari (1st), Abhijit Das (2nd), Takatula Imsong (3rd) and Hamlong Phom (4th) - all school students in the age group of 11 to 13 years from Vision School of Fine Arts, Livingstone Foundation Hr. Sec. School, Little Star Hr. Sec. School & Livingstone Foundation Hr. Sec. School respectively were the winners at the local level. For further details, interested school authorities may contact the Project Chairman Ajay Sethi, NIIT Dimapur Centre at 229145/ 96121-71341 or Asha Agarwal at 94368-30885.

Login or Register to post your Comment (Available for registered users only)

Comments (0 posted):

Post your comment comment

Please enter the code you see in the image:

  • email Email to a friend
  • print Print version
  • Plain text Plain text
Log in
No tags for this article