Mount View Colony resolves to uphold peace and tranquility during election

Dimapur, February 1 (MExN): The Mount View Colony Council (MVCC) in Dimapur has adopted several resolutions in connection with the maintenance of peace and tranquility in the colony during the period of the ensuing Nagaland General Assembly Election. A joint press statement received here stated that the resolutions were adopted during the consultative meeting attended by GBs, advisors, Youth Association of Mount View Colony (YAMVC) on January 29. 

It stated that any political party campaigning in the form of wall writings, posters, pamphlets, banners, flags etc at public places and private properties without the knowledge and consent of the council and the house/landowners respectively are strictly prohibited. Further, it resolved that defacing and destroying any permitted political party posters, banners etc in the colony is strictly prohibited. 

The colony strictly prohibits any promotion or attempt to promote feelings of enormity and hatred on the grounds of party politics, community, religion, caste and language etc; and any individual(s) and group(s) destroying or attempting to destroy public and private property. 

It prohibits entry into the colony in large groups or numbers for the purpose of campaigning, loudly shouting slogans disturbing the peaceful ambiance of the neighbourhood. “Use of alcohol, drugs and any other intoxicating substances within the colony jurisdiction” and “Carrying of firearm(s), weapon(s) in any manner or form,” are also strictly prohibited. 

It also stated that any member of the colony as well as non-bonafide member(s) who creates or is likely to create troubles, fights, violence, intimidation and threats in any form to hamper the peaceful atmosphere and harmonious co-existence of the colony citizens is strictly prohibited. 

“The violator(s) of the above mentioned resolutions as well as the Election Model Code of Conduct shall be entirely held responsible,” it cautioned. 

The press statement was appended by MVCC chairman, Shikato Zhimomi, Secretary T Setsipa Sangtam, GB Purana Bazaar, Vihoshe Awomi, GB Purana Bazaar Ntonsi Ngullie YAMVC President Y Johna Patton, and YAMVC General Secretary Mejensanger.