Consultative meet on proposed autonomous council for Eastern Nagaland on June 30

People of Tuensang town during the public rally demanding a separate Frontier Nagaland state on August 9, 2022. (Morung File Photo)

People of Tuensang town during the public rally demanding a separate Frontier Nagaland state on August 9, 2022. (Morung File Photo)

DIMAPUR, JUNE 24 (MExN): A consultative meeting on the provision of the proposed proposal of the Government of India for constitution of an Autonomous Council for the 6 eastern districts of the state namely Tuensang, Mon, Longleng, Kiphire, Shamator and Noklak has been convened on June 30 at 1:30 PM at the State Banquet Hall, Kohima. 

A meeting notice issued by Abhijit Sinha, Principal Secretary, Home informed that the Chief Minister, Deputy Chief Ministers, Speaker, all the Ministers, MP, Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha along with the Chief Secretary and other senior officials will be present in the meeting. 

It also requested the following members of the legislative assembly from Eastern Nagaland to make it convenient to attend the meeting-Noke Wangnao, Advisor, Social Welfare; K. Konngam Konyak, Advisor, Treasuries & Accounts, S Keoshu Yimchunger, Advisor, YR&S, Z. Nyusietho Nyuthe, Advisor, New & Renewal Energy, NSDMA, W.Chingang Konyak Advisor, Geology & Mining, DUDA, S. Kiusumew Yimchunger, Advisor, Fire & Emergency Services, Home Guards & CD and R &R, Sethrongkyu, Advisor, Information Technology &Communication, Economics &Statistics and Evaluation, Nyamnyei Konyak, MLA, Naiba Konyak, MLA, C. Kipilli Sangtam, MLA, P.Longon, MLA, Jwenga Seb, MLA, Y. Mankhao Konyak, MLA, B. Bangtick Phom, MLA, A. Pongshi Phom, MLA, Y. Lima Onen Chang, MLA, Imtichoba, MLA, Benei M Lamthiu, MLA, Manpon Konyak, MLA. 

The following tribal bodies/ organizations presidents along with three/two representatives have also been requested to make it convenient to attend the meeting-  Central Nagaland Tribes Council; Tenyimi Peoples' Organization, Angami Public Organization, Kohima, Ao Sendern, Mokokchung, Chakhesang Public Organization, Phek, Nagaland Garo Tribal Council, Dimapur, Kachari Tribal Council Nagaland, Dimapur, Karbi (Mikir) Union, Nagaland, Dimapur, Kuki Inpi (Nagaland), Dimapur, Lotha Hoho, Wokha, Pochury Hoho, Meluri, Rengma Hoho, Tseminyu, Sumi Hoho, Zunheboto, Nagaland Zeliang People Organization, Peren.

Mention made by made that the Eastern Naga Peoples’ Organization (ENPO), the apex body of the eastern Nagas has been demanding a separate “Frontier Nagaland” state since 2010 over alleged discrimination and development dificit. 
However, the Government of India (GoI) has offered the creation of an Autonomous Council of the six districts of eastern Nagaland instead. The state government had also endorsed the same.