Nagaland Election: No nominations yet

Morung Express News 
Dimapur | February 1

The Assembly election process in Nagaland has remained uneventful as of Wednesday, with no nominations being filed even on the second day, as per an update from the office of the Chief Electoral Officer.

The last date for filing nominations is February 7.

Meanwhile, all major political parties have remained silent on their list of candidates while the Naga People’s Front (NPF) said it would release its candidate list and election manifesto on February 3.

Various social media platforms were abuzz on Wednesday evening as a purported list of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidates was circulated. When contacted, State BJP leaders,declined to comment.

2 more Nagaland MLAs resign
Two more legislators have resigned from the Nagaland Legislative Assembly ahead of the assembly polls scheduled to be held on February 27, and their seats have been declared vacant.

The MLAs include Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) MLAs MuthingnyubaSangtam from the 52 Longkhim-Chare Assembly Constituency and Toyang Changfrom 53-Tuensang Sadar-I (ST). 

The State DIPR informed on Wednesday that the Speaker of the 13th NLA accepted their resignationwith effect from the forenoon of January 31, and declared the seats vacant.

Notably, four other legislators including NLA Deputy Speaker T YangseoSangtam, an Independent MLA from 60 Pungro-Kiphire Assembly Constituency and Minister for Housing and Mechanical, TongpangOzukum, also an Independent MLA from the 24- Angetyongpang AC. The other two MLAs who resigned were the NPF’s Imkong L Imchen from the 28-Koridang AC and Thongwang Konyak who was elected on the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party ticket from 46 Mon Town AC.