CUET exemption for Nagaland and Meghalaya

New Delhi/Dimapur, May 29 (MExN): Undergraduate students can take admission in colleges affiliated with two central universities in Nagaland and Meghalaya without the Central University Entrance Test (CUET) score after a special "consideration." 

The North Eastern Hill University in Meghalaya and Nagaland University in Nagaland are the two central universities.

This was conveyed in a letter issued to the Vice-Chancellors of both universities by a senior official of the Union Education Ministry, news agency PTI reported. 

According to the report, the consideration was given by the University Grants Commission (UGC) after requests were received from the states of Meghalaya and Nagaland through the National Testing Agency (NTA) to allow affiliated colleges to take admissions as per the prevailing practice.

"The UGC has considered the decision taken by the Ministry and agreed to allow admissions in the affiliated colleges of central universities in the states of Meghalaya and Nagaland, i.e., NEHU and Nagaland University, as per the prevailing practice by giving exemption from CUET for the academic year 2024-25 only," added the letter dated May 28.

Meanwhile, sharing the letter on X, Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad K. Sangma expressed gratitude to the Union Education Minister Dharmendra Pradhan for the exemption. 

"Happy to inform our students that admissions to affiliated colleges to central universities in Meghalaya have been exempted from CUET for this academic year. I thank @dpradhanbjp ji for his continuous support and understanding," he stated in a post on X.

According to the NTA, the CUET provides a single window opportunity for students to seek admission in any of the central universities (CUs) and other participating universities (state universities, autonomous institutions, private universities, deemed universities) across the country.

Admission to these educational institutions would be based on the NTA score secured by the students. The test is conducted separately for both undergraduate and postgraduate levels.