7,60,507 voted for LS polls in Nagaland

Dimapur, May 26 (MExN): During the election for the Nagaland Parliamentary seat on April 19, a total of 7,60,507 voters out of 13,17,536 electors exercised their franchise. This resulted in a voter turnout of 57.72%, as per the 'Voter turnout data for Phase 1' released by the Election Commission of India on May 25. The low turnout was largely due to an estimated 3.5 lakh electors in six districts—Mon, Tuensang, Longleng, Kiphire, Shamator, and Noklak—abstaining en masse under the banner of the Eastern Nagaland People's Organisation (ENPO). As a result, the turn out on April 19 was the lowest since the 1998 Lok Sabha polls, when the state polled 47.38%. Nagaland first took part in Lok Sabha election in 1967.