GoI extends ceasefire with 3 Naga political groups

DIMAPUR, APRIL 12 (MExN): The Government of India (GoI) today signed 1 year extensions of the ceasefire agreements with three Naga political groups—the GPRN/NSCN, NSCN (R) and NSCN (K) Khango. 

A press release from the Ministry of Home Affairs, GoI via Press Information Bureau informed that the ceasefire with the GPRN/NSCN and NSCN (R) has been extended from April 28, 2021 to April 27, 2022 while the ceasefire with the NSCN (K)-Khango has been extended from April 18, 2021 to April 17, 2022.

Meanwhile, a press release from the MIP of the GPRN/NSCN stated that the ceasefire extension was signed with subjection to adherence to Ceasefire Ground Rules “in the spirit of seriousness to maintain chain of peace in the state and modalities of resolving issues with the involvement of Naga people.” 

“The Ceasefire Ground Rules will be subjected to mutual review and amendment with the involvement of both the parties,” the press release added. It informed that the GPRN/NSCN was represented by Nitovi Aye, Supervisor, CFSB.

The NSCN (R) also issued a press release stating that “considering the peaceful and cordial atmosphere maintained between NSCN (R) and GoI and to honour the Naga People's yearning for peaceful co-existence, another extension for ceasefire was signed which is a prerequisite need of the hour at this contemporary stage of the ongoing Naga political dialogue"  

A press release from the MIP of the NSCN (R) said that both parties agreed to adhere to the laid down Ceasefire Ground Rules in all seriousness and fairness.

The NSCN (R) team was led by the CFSB Supervisor-in-Charge Amento V Chophi wherein the document was signed by the Supervisor and the CFSB Secretary, Toshi Longkumer representing the NSCN (R).

The Government of India was represented by Piyush Goyal, Additional Secretary to the Government of India, Ministry of Home Affairs.